FIGHTERS TALK TV

Advertise with FighterTalkTV
    • w
    • ko
    • L
    • D
  • 16 July 2022

    VS

  • RYAN GARCIA

    • w 23
    • ko 19
    • L 1
    • D 0

Social Share:

FightersTalkTV.com – One of boxing’s biggest stars returns to the ring as Ryan Garcia takes on Javier Fortuna in the main event at Crypto.com Arena in Los Angeles, California on Saturday, July 16. The scheduled for twelve rounds lightweight bout headlines the Golden Boy boxing fight card live stream on DAZN. The date when the event airs live in the UK is Sunday, July 17.

After a 15-month layoff due to a broken wrist and mental health issues, KO artist and social media star Ryan Garcia (22-0, 18 KOs) returned in April when he dropped and defeated Emmanuel Tagoe by unanimous decision. Garcia and Fortuna were supposed to fight in July 2021, but the former pulled out due to his mental health.

Fortuna (37-3-1, 26 KOs) of La Romana, Dominican Republic, a former two-division world champion, stayed on the show and lost a back-and-forth contest to Jo Jo Diaz by unanimous decision. The 32-year-old bounced back with a first-round knockout over Rafael Hernandez in February.

Garcia had been in talks to make a fight with Isaac Cruz. But they didn’t go anywhere and Garcia went back to Fortuna. A win against Fortuna puts him in position to reignite talks to make a bout with fellow lightweight star Gervonta Davis.

Ryan Garcia at the pre-fight press conference against Javier Fortuna on July 14.

“This was the fight I wanted, and now it’s time,” Garcia said when the fight was announced. “I am so grateful to my friends, family, and especially my fans for their support. I have never felt better, stronger, and more motivated. It’s time to silence all the doubters, and it starts with Fortuna on July 16.”

Here is everything you need to know about Ryan Garcia vs. Javier Fortuna.

Fight Date, Start Time
The main card is set to begin at 1am BST on Sunday 17 July (5pm PT, 7pm CT, 8pm ET on 16 July), with ring walks for the main event expected to start at around 4am BST (8pm PT, 10pm CT, 11pm ET on 16 July).

How To Watch It
The fight will air exclusively on streaming platform DAZN, a subscription to which is available here at a cost of £7.99 per month.

Betting slip
  • 1.4
  • Winner